top of page

A Trainers Journey Day 7


One thing about being an obedience instructor is that you get to start over every six weeks or when you start a new client. I can say it's always like my first time when I go see someone or start a new class. Dog(s) and owner(s) alike are in the same situation. Some have taken obedience some have not. Some are afraid that their dog will not perform. I always treat each class as if it could be my last and always start each class as if it were my first. The one cool thing about doing the basics is just that. I get to learn the foundation of training over and over again. I guess you can say I've been through 100's of hours of obedience work. The biggest reward each class brings me is the progression of the dogs and owners. You get to see the light bulbs go off and you get to see the dogs start to work together much sooner than you see the humans work together. See, a lot of times the person is a 100% focused on their dog and the dog is a 100% focused on the environment. All to often, I will stop the class and ask who is showing who how to act in this particular environment?As I start new classes it's always a privilege to get to know the clients and the dogs of each class. I absolutely love to laugh and the feeling of giving back make all the difference in the world to me. It is something that I do not take lightly.

So tonight starts that all over again. Dogs are in the building and people are eager to learn. Dogs are ready to please.

Let's begin!

bottom of page