top of page

A Nice Night of Reflection

As this week comes to a close it was a mighty eventful week. My son went to Disney and came home. Snickers my friend and bravest dog was allowed to rest. I’m now in bed at my brothers place out in MO. 

Having some time to reflect on all that has happened. I can look back and feel sorry but I don’t think Snickers would want that. Instead I think he would say the work we started together is bigger than him, me or my other dog that’s been gone for sometime named Lucy. The work of helping people. They helped me in ways that I never thought was possible. They raised me up. I was able to be in their presence and be at aw. I love dogs so much and just wanted to learn from them. I did humanize them though😉. I also was able to appreciate them for what they were. Simply incredible. Almost envious in their agility, senses, and curioustiy. Those things to me were something I would love to experience what they see with my human mind of course. 

I get ready to plan for this upcoming week and I have lots of things happening and are exciting to be looking ahead. Can’t wait to be able train with the search and rescue group I’m a part of. I have some private lessons coming up, and finishing my Tuesday group class. I’m very excited for the future of training dogs in my community. 

I know some of my blogs as of late haven’t really talked dog training or behavior. I do apologize for that. I’m going to get back on that next week. 

Grieving this weekend and letting go is what this weekend is all about. I have my son here, at my brothers place just enjoying the time together. I’m excited as I get to start the process of looking for a new partner (dog) soon. The crazy thing is that I’m not angry or too sad of losing Snickers. I think I had been in mourning for a long time at understanding our time was growing short. He was in so much pain that it was the love of the relationship we had that allowed me to help him one last time. We had no regrets. He save my life, helped me live a healthier lifestyle. I was held accountable to him. He needed me to care for him in all ways in which I got exercise everyday. Crazy when I look back and the confidence going forward that knowing who I am because of his help, a dog is absolutely incredible. 

I’m not sure how he changed me. Maybe change is the wrong word. Maybe we should say exposed. He exposed me to who I was and being. Maybe because he exposed me it allowed me to be open enough to change.

Until next time! Enjoy your weekend

bottom of page