top of page

How does it look to you?

What is training? What is the best way? What actually works for you? I often think about this when I visit homes and am asked to help their dog listen or I’m asked to train it not to go after certain things. Most of the time it’s not a clear answer. This, when involving a house hold often is not a cookie cutter type of answer. I can see where a dog is coming from by the way it communicates with me. Once I understand that I can then make a plan that will help the dog. The only way the plan will work is how it is implemented by the dog’s family.

The family or humans are the most important part in a successful obedient dog. It does not matter the trainer you seek out. Yes, the dog will learn the basics or yes, the dog will be better behaved. Most of the times it’s not as severe enough to have a dog removed and trained. I would say a majority of the time it’s a communication problem. Often left with the dog asking for some kind of help and it not being answered or just ignored unintentionally. I think it is to be said that who we are as people this is not our fault. But it is our fault to cohabitate with a different species of animal. We, humans are highly adaptable if we need to be. Instead of us adapting we quote on quote need the dog trained. I believe there should be a partnership. We should learn to understand what they need as well as them understand what we need.

We know that the dog is highly adaptive. They can still love the most abusive people. When it comes to your dog’s behavior and or relationship, what is it that you want it to look like? What do you want it to say to you and your dog? Notice not I did not say to other people😊

There are videos of me working with my new dog, Lilly. There’s not much that is impressive about it. I’m not into making sure we get the best down. I’m interested typically in only having her attention. So, when I get the down or the sit I’m super happy. This can sound confusing so try and understand that I’m paying more attention to the emotional state of her than how she gives the cue. If you pay attention to the cue you will think the video of teaching, her is sloppy. It’s how she’s performing in her mind that matters to me. Truth is she’s giving me the behavior to the extent that I want it. It works for me. Can I get her to do better absolutely? It’s just not as important to me. Just like it may be important to you that your dog does perform better or more alert. There will be some dogs and their functions that they need to.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, to create the best relationship in you and your dog is not about how everyone else thinks it should be but how you think it should be. If you’re stuck in the part of knowing you’re unsure of how to help, then it’s important you find out why it’s not working. That is wear a trainer/behaviorist will come in and help get the relationship back on track. There’s always an answer. Sometimes it’s the one thing that is so obvious we just didn’t see it.

Until next time! Have a safe weekend and thanks for reading!

bottom of page