top of page

Socialize Socialize Socialize

Since I started training lots of what I know is through experience with my own dogs and through the reading that I’ve done. I’ve learned over the years that socialization is the key to good behaviors. Socialization is key for anyone’s training plan for their dogs. Socialization has been a forgotten aspect of training. I believe it gets talked about but not executed as a main cue or part of the actual learning process. We, as trainers will often say you have to get out with the dog and work with distractions. Distractions should be translated into environmental socialization.

Let me explain the top. When you begin to work with your dog to curb any behavior. We will use fear for this example. Fear is what I find that comes out when socialization is not maintained in the dog. So, lets talk about this for a bit. If a dog goes on the same trail or walk through the neighborhood. Your dog will get accustomed and probably will learn to walk and behave just as they would in the house, or they will behave the same way because no one has told him/her to act differently. Fear actually comes from the lack of practicing new experiences and how to deal with those new experiences. For example, in our world, I drove to St. Louis for 3 years straight. By the end of those three years I am weaving in and out of traffic with out any type of fear. A year of not driving in the city, I can feel the sweat on my palms, wondering if I’m going to get lost, tentative on my movements on the road. I’ve become unaccustomed and not as confident in that situation. I must make that drive a couple of times and then I will settle again. I can change my self quickly. Dogs depending if they’re coming from fear cannot do this alone. They do need help other wise their four basic responses will come in to play. The responses in review are flight, flight, avoidance, and acceptance of what is happening.

Most of the time we allow our emotions to affect what is indeed happening. We, just come to accept the fact that my dog plays to rough, won’t walk on a leash, will never let people in the home, will always jump. These behaviors can be difficult to correct for sure. The problem with most training. Is that we attack the symptom instead of the actual problem. The socialization parts. If you have a good socialization program going of how you want your dog to interact with its environment and are patient to see it through. Your other behaviors that you find unpleasurable will be able to go away more easily. Having a system in place for your dog when they’re uncomfortable is not only good but imperative when changing or modifying behavior. This program in best has been evolving to where it is now. I believe that patience is the biggest tool. Sometimes when faced with something you’ve never experienced, you wait it out. Wait for a behavior you can build on. As soon as you get it mark it.

To me not moving on and just being patient can pay dividends when you are trying to change certain behaviors. You want the dog to be accepting and confident. Well giving that direction will help. You want the dog to say okay this barking thing is not working what’s next? That’s when they look to you. Before more that likely you got them out of that environment and the barking worked for that dog and that situation. If you’re able stand and hold your ground and wait for a different response you then become related to his new experience and that of one you were giving some type of direction. They can only be explosive for so long before they find it unpleasurable. By no means do I think this works all the time. This is something to try. I believe you do what works best for you dog. For me, I’m strong to hold my ground. If I get caught in the storm, I know I can wait it out. This example is really for the surprise moments. The moments you couldn’t prep for. If you can the best way to set up the scenarios is by setting up threshold training.

I also believe if you’re reading this and just got a new dog regardless of age. If you just brought them into the house, you have the perfect time to socialize them with the environments around them. Take them to stores walk them on different routs and to utilize your home as a great communication of what is expected in the outside world. The home is where you are most comfortable at. Use that to teach, help the dog have a foundation of language before you expect certain behaviors. Socialization is an everyday process no matter the age of the pup. Seeking out things that your dog may react differently to is important. Therefore, we have our kids try different things as well. We want them to have exposure and learn social skills. Some dogs learn to become accepting in every environment because they’ve experienced numerous environments. They will then look to the person and see if this environment is safe.

So, if you don’t ever plan to train your dog remember that socialization is the best way to keep that dog happy, friendly, and reliable.

Thanks for reading!!

bottom of page