top of page

Adaptability

This blog is going to be about dogs learning to socialize after the critical socialization period of 12 weeks of age. You may have heard that it’s really difficult to socialize or train after the puppy turns to a dog. This is true in some sense. It is very easy to socialize a puppy no doubt. The older the dog is the more learned behaviors that stick around after puppy hood. Remember that first year is all about learning how to deal with certain aspects of situations life has to offer. With dogs being mostly reactionary, it is vital that we set our dogs up for success at this early age that we allow the dog to investigate something it may be frightened of. When I mean investigate don’t pick the dog up and try and sooth it. It needs to go through its numbered emotions and as soon as you see a curious dog, you should mark this behavior in it. Simple right? What about them 2-year old’s on up? That’s what I’m writing about today.

The adult dog may seem stubborn or afraid of everything. Like us we contribute baggage to the past and we must work through our past to find some kind of meaning of it all. Dogs do not work this way. There experiences in the past are made of re-actions that cause the dog to go into 4 basic survival modes. Those modes again are, flight, fight avoidance, or relaxing during a stressful situation. Our dogs are not going through their past every time they have an experience we deem to be negative. I think it’s important to make that distinction “we deem negative”. The experiences in the dog’s mind have kept him alive so when a similar situation comes up he just reacts. No thought of the past. That comes from us. We think about the past and anticipate. One of the biggest differences in the dog than us. We often think it’s not and may project this onto them. Projection can be the biggest hindrance when working with behavior. Understanding what is going to happen is important but what if I said acting as if nothing was going to happen is even more important.

We are a species that can envision its future. We say we want to become a Doctor, Farmer, Business owner, and retail manager. We say these things and then make the correct steps to get there. This is the tool you have to use to change your dogs mind of things that they’re uncomfortable with. You must set goals. We are the biggest influence in the dog’s life. It’s about seeing the way you want your dog to be and understanding it’s not the current bad behavior that needs fixed. It’s the communication system that has broken down in some points. When I brought Lilly home she was a homeless dog. She went to her fosters learned about the sofa and how to be a dog and play with toys. She came here, and I let all of that go. I brought her in for the first time and said this is what I need from you here. I made sure she went with me everywhere. I brought her from room to room. Marked the behaviors as she learned to wait for me to move to the next room. I allowed her to smell and learn about the room but when I spoke to her it was followed by action. I did not allow her to afraid. I showed her what I needed from inside the home all day since it was too hot to walk. That would’ve been better to walk her outside first. She after one week of being here respects me and my sons stuff. Not because she was disciplined but because I was consistent in marking behaviors I wanted to see. There was some discipline yes, but for the most part it came after I gave her more freedoms to roam free.

She new what it meant when I said no and what it meant when I called her name. That basic vocabulary allowed me to break her concentration and is all she new from me. She new she would be rewarded for giving me attention. I would show her what I need from her as well and reward her. She gained confidence even though I may have told her no she immediately gave me something that would earn her love.

You see, socialization in dogs is all about having confidence. If you have your reward system going and say your dog is afraid of certain things, then ask yourself what do I need to do when I know we will be coming up on it? Should I block him from hiding? Should I sooth and try and nurture? The truth is it is up to you to change that perception of how your dog deals with those times of stress. An adult dog may take longer to come around but it’s not just about that instance. It’s the way you help the dog see it’s entire world even how what they expect from you.

Dogs are highly adaptable so when you take their world and spin it upside down they have to process it. This does take time and gives you a window to help settle them before they learn to use what got them there. It’s important to take your time here as well. They’re old self will resurface. This is what you want. With the new routine you now can be patient and not move the dog on to something else until it changes its own perception of what’s happening. Sometimes blocking the flight mode when you find yourself immersed is all you have to do.

Truth is all dogs are different in some ways because all people are different in some ways. I think though any psychologist would say there are not that many problems at the core. Each diagnosis has it’s many tentacles mis leading to what is actually wrong. Your dog is no different. Those emotions all of are at the dog to it’s core. We have to decide if its emotions are okay at those points in time. If we feel they’re not, then we must work through them with them. Be the one to see the bigger picture, the quality of life your dog will be open up to, be the goal you have for your dog. If your dog could think like you. What would they want? Could you convince them? Everyone knows the biggest reward for the dog is more time with you. To have that incredible friendship is to help your friend when they need help. To not throw your hands up when there feels like no hope, or that’s just the way it is. It doesn’t have to be. We have the ability to create our own world. We have the ability to help change the way our dogs see theirs but we must first believe we can.

Hope you enjoyed the read!! Take care!

bottom of page