top of page

The Motivator

Finding the right motivators can be crucial in your quest to bond with your canine companion. Sometimes the motivators may show themselves in nontraditional forms. They also will show themselves very traditionally, such as the ball, and food. For me and my new companion it has most certainly been her need to be social. This for her is the ultimate motivator. She does take food but it’s not what gets her to perform. Being able to control the outbursts is crucial. You want to be able to utilize this motivator. So, if it’s untraditional use some type of discipline to block the out bursts and as soon as you get the right behaviors reward and after the exercise allow the dog to do what it wanted to do in the first place. This will build trust with you and the dog and the dog will learn that it will eventually get to that place where it can interact. This is what Lilly is learning to do.

I realized that her need to be social was in fact a need. It would be hurtful to her to take it away. So, I use it to help her perform. I want her to have that social ability about her. I also want her to be able to focus around it. So, working with her to the point where she almost can’t take it is an indicator that we are working and doing the right things. If I can get 15 -20 minutes with her focused, then she lets out a bark like “come on, man”!! Then I will settle her again then let her go be social after her settling. This allows me to know her limit and allows me to make sure she’s calm before I let her go be social.

Motivators are can be tricky. It’s like finding the most annoying thing and you want it to stop sometimes. But it could be the biggest advocate in getting the dog to perform if utilized correctly. The next time you are frustrated with your dog not listening, find out why, and what. Then see how you can utilize that in your training as a real motivator.

Until next time all!

bottom of page