top of page

Working the Communication

Hi all!!

I know it’s been a little bit since I’ve last talked to all of you. I’ve been working on my certifications for Search and Rescue and have a class to go to in Indiana! Super excited about that.

We also have a new partnership with Wolf Gangs Pet Stop! For more information on their services and their website click on the name above. Among excellent grooming and doggy day care, they will now feature Patrick Ferland: Dog Training, LLC. Many of you don’t know this about me, but this was the first place I did any training with my dog Snickers, about 10.5 years ago. Kind of surreal of where I did my externship, and now returning to help build an amazing training program. If you are in and or know anyone around the forest park area, please pass the word.

Today I just wanted to talk in general about how we work or view our dogs. I’ve been spending time with lots of people who have dogs and are training themselves. Which is great. Just finding there is a lot of people set in their ways. I don’t find myself in that category. I’m always willing to learn. I’ve learned things from my own clients. I by far am not the best trainer. The one thing that I can say that I’m honestly good at is learning and implanting what I’ve learned. I enjoy learning about how to work with dogs. This search and Rescue org that I’m a part of has me at aww. I love seeing the different tricks they use to help the dogs perform. I’m just a student in all of this.

I can honestly say that as a trainer/ behaviorist, whatever you want to call me. I enjoy the basics. It’s all about the basics. The reward/discipline system is basic to its core. It’s how the dog will learn to communicate with you. To me, having proper and consistent communication with your dog sets the relationship off right or puts it back on course. Every time, I get to teach a basic class is an opportunity to see something different. I never say the dogs are different just the owners and that makes the dogs react differently.

Developing the partnerships at the basic levels is what I try to convey to my clients. Just like anything that is in the reward/discipline system that you choose to use. There is a fine line of working as a partnership to one or the other taking advantage and having total control of the game. When you find that one side or the other has too much control it’s best to try and start from scratch or simply as for more before releasing that reward. If your dog has a clear understanding of what to do and have been working outside with them and outside they’re hit or miss on reliability, but they suddenly remember when treats are around. This can be frustrating because at this point they know what to do but just won’t do it. At this point it is beneficial to take treats that the dog does respond to in this environment. Start out with a mini reward session where you are telling your dog you are getting rewarded. Then as the dog’s reliability goes up with the treats start asking the dog to perform quicker. If they do not, simply mold them into position then tell them how good they are but no treats. Give the dog a second chance to perform the same cue. It can feel like a slow progression especially if they understand one thing really well and not the other. You are creating a habbit and a reaction for the dog to do when they hear that specific word. No question in their mind that they are perfoming and something great will eventually be coming. We just have to be patient enough to get them to that level. You want everything as clear and consitent as possible. This will help the dog gain lots of confidence becuase they understand the expectations.

Currently taking sigups for group classes at the Waterloo Feed and Pet Supply!


Again, as always if you’re looking for help feel free to reach out. I will tell you what I think. Most times I do need to meet the dog in person. I can speak generalities on the phone or in messaging. You all have a very safe weekend and THANKS FOR READING!

bottom of page